Live VIN decoding · transparent vehicle researchSource-labeled vehicle research · no owner dataHow the report works →
Free VIN check

2000 Ford Ranger Pickup 2WD specs & fuel economy

2000 Ford Ranger Pickup 2WD: 6 EPA configurations, Automatic 4-spd / Manual 5-spd, fuel economy and an adjustable running-cost comparison.

EPA data snapshot imported 2026-09-06 · United States · US gallons

Configuration snapshot

The 2000 Ford Ranger Pickup 2WD has 6 EPA-listed configurations in our 2026-09-06 data snapshot. Listed transmissions: Automatic 4-spd; Manual 5-spd; Automatic 5-spd; Automatic (A1). Compare the engine, drive type and fuel ratings below before matching an individual car by VIN.

Engine, transmission and fuel economy

Each row links to its original EPA vehicle record. MPG uses US gallons; MPGe expresses energy equivalence and is not a liquid-fuel tank measurement. Missing values remain “Not reported.”

2000 Ford Ranger Pickup 2WD · EPA configuration comparison
Engine / transmission / drivePrimary fuelCityHighwayCombinedSource
2.5L 4-cyl · Automatic 4-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA engine descriptor: 2.5E-RRegular Gasoline18 MPG23 MPG20 MPGEPA #16106
2.5L 4-cyl · Manual 5-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA engine descriptor: 2.5E-RRegular Gasoline20 MPG24 MPG22 MPGEPA #16107
4L 6-cyl · Automatic 5-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA engine descriptor: 4.0E-RRegular Gasoline14 MPG19 MPG16 MPGEPA #16108
4L 6-cyl · Manual 5-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA engine descriptor: 4.0E-RRegular Gasoline16 MPG21 MPG18 MPGEPA #16109
Electricity · Automatic (A1) · 2-Wheel DriveEPA engine descriptor: Lead AcidElectricityEV62 MPGe54 MPGe58 MPGeEPA #30966
Electricity · Automatic (A1) · 2-Wheel DriveEPA engine descriptor: NiMHElectricityEV59 MPGe52 MPGe56 MPGeEPA #30967

Other 2000 Ford Ranger versions

EPA lists these versions separately. The figures above apply to the listing named “Ranger Pickup 2WD”; they are not a specification for every Ranger trim.

Electric and alternative-fuel details

EPA #30966

Electricity · Automatic (A1) · 2-Wheel Drive

Alternative fuel
None listed
Electricity consumption
58 kWh/100 miles
240 V charging time
Not reported
Electric motor descriptor
67 KW AC
EPA range
50 miles

EPA #30967

Electricity · Automatic (A1) · 2-Wheel Drive

Alternative fuel
None listed
Electricity consumption
60 kWh/100 miles
240 V charging time
Not reported
Electric motor descriptor
67 KW AC
EPA range
65 miles

Charging time refers to the reported 240 V setup; it is not a DC fast-charge time. Range and efficiency are test estimates, not a used battery’s measured condition.

What would it cost you to run?

Change the example mileage and prices to match your driving. These are your assumptions, not live pump prices. Liquid-fuel versions use the same entered price per US gallon; adjust it for the fuel grade you plan to buy.

Estimated annual energy cost using EPA combined ratings
ConfigurationAnnual costCalculation basis
2.5L 4-cyl · Automatic 4-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA #16106$2,100Regular Gasoline operation
2.5L 4-cyl · Manual 5-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA #16107$1,909Regular Gasoline operation
4L 6-cyl · Automatic 5-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA #16108$2,625Regular Gasoline operation
4L 6-cyl · Manual 5-spd · Rear-Wheel DriveEPA #16109$2,333Regular Gasoline operation
Electricity · Automatic (A1) · 2-Wheel DriveEPA #30966$1,114Electricity only
Electricity · Automatic (A1) · 2-Wheel DriveEPA #30967$1,152Electricity only

Fuel: miles ÷ combined MPG × price per gallon. Electric vehicles: miles ÷ 100 × kWh/100 miles × price per kWh. Plug-in hybrids show gasoline operation only here; charging and blended operation need a separate driving model. Maintenance, insurance, depreciation and charging-session fees are excluded.

Have a car in mind?

Start with its VIN.

Confirm the year, make and model free. History records are a separate check.

No card or account needed.

Use the specs to check the listing

  1. Match the model year, engine, drive type and transmission with the seller’s documents.
  2. Check the fuel requirement on the vehicle label and in its owner’s manual.
  3. Use the VIN to investigate identity, title and reported history separately.
  4. Verify open recalls on the official NHTSA lookup and arrange an independent inspection for current condition.

The EPA catalogue is not a VIN history database and does not establish accidents, maintenance, title status, towing capacity or installed options. EPA also notes that older drive labels do not always distinguish AWD from 4WD. Standardized consumption figures can differ from real-world use.

Compare nearby model years

These links match the EPA model name. They do not establish that parts or equipment are interchangeable between years.

Evidence

Sources reviewed

Open the underlying public source and verify that its scope matches the question you are asking.

  1. EPA vehicle data and field definitionsFuelEconomy.gov — U.S. EPA and Department of Energy
  2. Downloaded vehicle datasetSnapshot imported 2026-09-06
  3. VIN decoderNHTSA
Quick answers

Frequently asked questions

What transmission does the 2000 Ford Ranger Pickup 2WD have?

EPA records in this snapshot list Automatic 4-spd; Manual 5-spd; Automatic 5-spd; Automatic (A1). These are model-level configurations. Match the individual car’s VIN and factory build information before identifying a replacement transmission.

What fuel does the 2000 Ford Ranger Pickup 2WD use?

Primary fuels listed across the EPA configurations are Regular Gasoline, Electricity. Some versions may also list an alternative fuel. Match the particular configuration and follow the vehicle’s fuel label and owner’s manual.

Are these the exact specifications of my Ranger Pickup 2WD?

These are EPA model-year configurations, not a decode of an individual VIN or a complete trim catalogue. Confirm identity, installed equipment and service requirements with the car’s VIN and manufacturer records.

Will I achieve the listed fuel economy?

EPA ratings support comparisons under standardized test conditions. Your result depends on driving, weather, tyres, load, charging pattern and vehicle condition. The cost calculator uses the listed combined rating and your entered prices.