Bring a Trailer Carfax: What We Found on Listings
Modern Bring a Trailer listings we sampled linked a CARFAX report. See its buyer’s fee, binding-bid rules and checkout options.
Enter your VIN. Check the car before you buy.
Identify the vehicle free, then choose whether to buy its reported history.
Title brands · Odometer records · Auction history, where reported
No subscription. No charge to check the VIN. Report contents vary by vehicle; applicable tax is shown at checkout.
See what the paid report includes →All eight 2010–2018 Bring a Trailer listings we sampled on October 9, 2026 had a “Show me the Carfax” button that opened a CARFAX report without logging in. Bring a Trailer’s policy pages do not mention CARFAX, so who pays and whether every listing has one are not stated. Buyers pay a 5% or 10% fee on top of the sale price (minimum $250, capped at $7,500 or $4,000), bids are commitments to purchase and are not contingent on post-auction inspection.
- CARFAX link observed on modern listings, not a stated policy.
- Buyer’s fee 5% or 10%, minimum $250.
- Bids are binding and not contingent on inspection.
- Verified Checkout costs $99 or $149 with title and registration.
One VIN. One $14.99 history report.
For $14.99, VIN Lookup delivers an original ClearVIN vehicle-history PDF for the VIN you enter. ClearVIN appears on the DOJ provider list; VIN Lookup resells its report and is not itself listed as an NMVTIS provider. The report may include data beyond the NMVTIS core, but the records returned vary by VIN.
The VIN decode is free. No card is needed until you choose to buy; applicable tax is shown at checkout. A missing record is not proof that an event never happened.Original provider PDF
No subscription
What we saw on listings
On a 2015 Audi Q5 listing, the seller text read that the Carfax report is free of accidents or other reported damage, and the “Show me the Carfax” button served the CARFAX PDF. The same button appeared on all eight modern listings in our sample.
Pre-1981 cars often lack a 17-digit VIN and may have no report.
| Item | Term |
|---|---|
| CARFAX link | Observed on 8/8 modern listings sampled |
| Buyer’s fee | 5% (cap $7,500) or 10% (cap $4,000), min $250 |
| Bids | Commitment to purchase |
| Inspection contingency | None after auction |
| Verified Checkout | $99 escrow; $149 with title and registration |
Before you bid
Bring a Trailer’s FAQ says bids are not contingent upon post-auction inspections. Read the report, ask the seller questions in the comments and arrange any inspection before the auction closes.
Compare the report’s last odometer reading with the listing photos of the gauge cluster.
If the Bring a Trailer listing has no free report
Ask the seller first: dealers usually hold a CARFAX or AutoCheck subscription and can send a current report for the exact VIN. A private seller may not, and a screenshot from a seller is a lead, not proof — the VIN, date and provider must match the car.
If no one supplies one, check title brands and total losses through a DOJ-listed NMVTIS provider (free at Carsforsale.com, $9.98 at Titlecheck.us), recalls at NHTSA and theft at NICB, all free or near it. For auction records, photos and damage descriptions, VIN Lookup sells the original ClearVIN report for $14.99 once, or three for $29.99 when you are comparing several cars.
Buyer checklist
- Open the CARFAX via “Show me the Carfax”.
- Ask questions in the comments.
- Inspect before the auction closes.
- Match the VIN in the listing to the car.
- Check open recalls free at NHTSA.
- Check theft and insurer salvage at NICB VINCheck.
What this research cannot prove
- Platform policies and listing features change; we read them on October 9, 2026, from outside the United States.
- A free report or summary shows only what was reported to its provider.
- Listings we sampled may not represent every listing on the platform.
Sources reviewed
Open the underlying public source and verify that its scope matches the question you are asking.
- How BaT worksBring a Trailer
- FAQBring a Trailer
- Listing with CARFAX linkBring a Trailer
- Approved NMVTIS Data Providers — checked October 8, 2026U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance
- VINCheckNational Insurance Crime Bureau
- Recalls Lookup by VINNational Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Frequently asked questions
Does Bring a Trailer include a Carfax?
The modern listings we sampled linked a CARFAX report, though BaT’s policy pages do not state it.
What is the Bring a Trailer buyer’s fee?
5% or 10% of the sale price, minimum $250, capped at $7,500 or $4,000.
Can I back out after winning on Bring a Trailer?
BaT says a bid is a commitment to purchase and not contingent on post-auction inspection.
Does every BaT car have a report?
Not stated; older cars without a 17-digit VIN may have none.